The General Education and Training Phase (GET)

The Grade 8 and 9 GET curriculum includes eight learning areas: Languages, Mathematics, Social Sciences (History and Geography), Natural Sciences, Economic and Management Sciences, Technology, Life Orientation and Creative Arts.

Languages must include a Home Language (English) and a First Additional Language (either Afrikaans or isiXhosa).

For Creative Arts, learners are required to choose two specific learning pathways (Art, Drama and/or Music). Learners may also choose one of the Additional Languages offered by the school (French or isiXhosa), which replaces the second Creative Arts subject. 

The school reports to parents on learner progress each term, based on the assessment tasks completed during that term.  This is conveyed by means of a percentage and corresponding rating code for each learning area.

GET Promotion Requirements: Grades 8 & 9

The final promotion mark for each subject at the end of the year will be made up as follows:

Home Language (HL)
i.e. English
Level 4: 50 – 59%
(Adequate Achievement)
First Additional Language (FAL)
i.e. Afrikaans / isiXhosa
Level 3: 40 – 49%
(Moderate Achievement)
Any THREE other subjects
Any TWO of the remaining subjects Level 2: 30 – 39%
(Elementary Achievement)