Rustenburg Girls’ High School ready to take the lead in science

Rosalind Franklin, Janet Taylor, Dorothy Hodgkin, Katherine Johnson, Mae Jemison – not easy names to forget as these women are just 4 of many who have changed the way the world works, thanks to their contributions to pioneering discoveries in the realm of science. 

Research shows that despite significant improvements in the last couple of years, women are still under-represented in science and technology, both in the academic and private sector. This is due to the role allocated to women in modern society, as well as prejudices that form glass ceilings while encouraging male presence in the workplace. 

At Rustenburg Girls’ High, we are all about breaking this glass ceiling by revolutionising the playing field for future female led-industries; the world of science is one area in which we plan to make our mark because, as we know, the future of science is female

For this to happen, we would like to revamp our science rooms but cannot do that without your help! The school needs R2 million rand to make it a reality. While we know that this may not be an easy task, we know with your help, it is possible.  

Aim: To raise money to refurbish a science rooms of the future

Challenge: we challenge all Alumnae and everyone to help make this a reality by purchasing a “brick” or furniture . 

  • Small brick – R500.00 (10cm x 5cm)
  • Medium brick – R1000.00 (15cm x 7.5cm)
  • Large brick – R10 000.00 (20cm x 10cm)

Or why not sponsor furniture:

  • A desk – R12 500.00
  • A chair – R3500.00
  • The blinds – R1800.00 each
  • the floor – R30000.00 

Depending on the size of the brick you choose to purchase, everyone who donates, no matter how small, will have their name engraved on a Perspex plaque and mounted in the classroom. The size of your contribution determines the size of the Perspex brick. 

Ready to donate? Click here to make your contribution! 

I didn’t want to just know the names of things. I remember really wanting to know how it all worked.”

Elizabeth Blackburn, Winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine